Scroll to content

Interactive Bar



Crane Park Primary School

Get in touch

Our Governors


Welcome to our Governors’ section.


The governing body is a group of volunteers elected by parents and staff or nominated by the local authority. We work with the headteacher to decide on the strategic direction of the school, how the budget is spent and raising standards in all areas of school life. We do this so that the children have the best education that they possibly can have.

The full Governing Body meets twice a term. We have 3 committees (Teaching & Learning, Finance & Premises, Staffing & Pay) which meet once or twice a term each and we sometimes set up working parties to develop particular ideas or in response to particular issues.

If you would like to contact me or the governing body at any time then this can be done through the school office or please say hello when you see us around the school.


Mrs Jacqui Corley - Chair of Governors

The role of the governing body

Recent legislation has widened the responsibilities of school governors, but broadly governing bodies oversee the work of the school and make sure it provides a good quality education for its pupils.


Working in partnership with the head and other staff, governors are involved in:


  • setting the school's aims and policies;
  • improving standards of teaching and achievement;
  • setting the school's budget plan and monitoring expenditure;
  • interviewing and appointing teachers and support staff;
  • acting as a link between the local community and the school;
  • dealing with complaints about the school;
  • drawing up an action plan after an inspection, and monitoring the success of the plan


Crane Park Governors:


Co-opted governors

Mrs Renu Sudera

Ms Saba Rafiq-Vice Chairperson

Miss Jayne Gardner-Vice Chairperson

Mr Cormac Bourne



Local Authority Governors

Mrs Jacqueline Corley-Chair of Governors


Parents Governors

Mrs Helen Abigail



Ms Alison Small - Headteacher

Miss Isabel Tayler 


Governors-Stepped Down

Mrs Habiba Khan-September 2021

Mr Avass Malik-September 2021

Rev Victoria Davidson

Mr Kamran Ahmad-March 2020

Mr Colin Smith- March 2020

Mr Alex Pett- October 2018

Miss Lyn Wilson- December 2019

Mr Daryl Boxall - December 2017

Mrs Claire Parkin - December 2016

Mrs Meenu Dubey - May 2016

Mrs Wendy Hughes - February 2016

Ms Val Blackwell - July 2019

Mrs Rupinder Dhonoa - September 2017

Mrs Folu Odu - September 2017

Mr Simon Hughes - September 2022

Mr Anthony Hardley - September 2022



Mrs Satbir Sidhu - Deputy Head Teacher

Mrs Tania Clements - School Business Manager

Mrs Sarah Dubey-James - Assistant Head Teacher

Mrs Lindsey May-Assistant School Business Manager

Crane Park Governors